This is a social network - built for ourselves, and for our Communities.
We build
To support each other.
To slow things down.
To take back control.
To make a living doing things that matter.
To spend less time scrolling - and more time experiencing life.
And above all,
To do cool stuff with people we trust.
Read more about our philosophy in our Code of Conduct.
TheNetwork.cam is a minimalist social platform.
We currently have the following features:
You can create, join, leave, and invite people to groups in order to tailor who receives your updates and which updates you receive.
Each group has a Coordinator (by default this is the person who created the group) who can also edit the group, remove members, and transfer the Coordinator role.
The platform generates a modular Newsletter.
You can post to the Newsletter to keep the people in your groups up-to-date into the happenings in your life, share opinions, and offer or ask for help.
You decide whether posts you make go out to everyone, all members of all your groups, just members of a specific group, or nobody.
We plan to add more customisations, such as the ability to select multiple groups or other custom lists (e.g., "share this post only with my inner circle").
Your Newsletter is updated once a day at 8 am CET.
We plan to add more customisations, such as the ability to subscribe/unsubscribe from updates from a given group or person, and to connect directly with other people even if you don't have any groups in common.
You can see all your posts in one place and update or delete them.
You can also edit your information, including who can see each piece of information.
You can save people and groups to your Bookmarks tab.
We plan to add more customisations, such as the ability to create custom lists and other ways to sort/filter bookmarks.
You can search for people and groups by their name or handle.
We plan to add more ways to search, for example including profile and post information, and moving from plain-text to a better search algorithm. This will let you find people in your Network based on shared interests and common causes (e.g., "looking for a someone in Berlin who can teach me how to make a table")
Click on the New Post icon (the pencil at the bottom of the screen) or navigate to the New Post page.
Go to your profile and click the three dots (...) next to the post you want to update. Make your edits and click "Update."
If the checkbox "Add this update to the next Newsletter?" is checked-off, then your post will get re-added to the next Newsletter. If you uncheck this box, you can edit your post without notifying anyone.
Create or edit a post, then choose the "Visibility" setting.
You can also switch the setting "Add this post to the next Newsletter?" - if the box is checked-off, your post will appear in the next Newsletter; if it is not checked, it will not.
Go into the group you want to invite the person to (either in My Groups or on your profile's About tab) and click "Invite."
Note that you need to invite new users into a group.
Go to your Network tab and click "New Group"
Check the member list of the group you want to join, and send a message to any of the members of that group asking them to invite you.
Hint: If you don't know anyone in the group, try messaging the Coordinator of the group first.
(We will add a built-in way to request to join groups)
Invite links only work once, and expire after 7 days.
If your invite link expired, send a message to the person who invited you (or someone else in the group) and ask them to re-send an invite.
For now you can Bookmark users by going to their profile and clicking the Bookmark icon in the top-right corner, but there is no way to send a direct friend/connect request.
(But we will add this later.)
You sign in by typing in the e-mail you used to sign up. You will get an e-mail with a login code. You do not need a password.
(We do plan to add a login flow with a password, but it isn't our priority right now.)
Go to your profile and click "Edit" in the top-right corner.
If you do not wish to receive the Newsletter, you can automatically delete it in your inbox, or delete your account in your settings
(We will add a way to directly unsubscribe soon. We know this is important.)